Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
No… I have not fallen off the face of the earth. Almost, but not quite. I'll "digress" a little before I even get started.

Those of you who know me know that I'm really an engineer. About two years ago I gave that up to pursue my real passion… automotive performance and racing. (TGSI was originally an engineering firm but I sold my interest to JADTech Corporation).

The reality of the automotive performance and racing business is that if you don't take in the street car work… and that means all the "mung and drool" :( that goes with street cars… you can't put food on the table. The second reality is that very few people will pay what it costs to do performance "right". All want the monster HP, but few will pay what it costs. Every kid with a Honda has a buddy who claims that he got 300 HP for only $500. And the advertisers make it even worse… "Add 50% HP with our $69.95 "swirl thingy". So, my partner and I made a business decision to sell "swirl thingies" and the like… the stuff folks want to pay for. We paid the bills, put food on the table and got to play with the "real" performance and racing stuff… some.

Then last August an old customer from my engineering business hunted me down. I resisted the offers until in late October I couldn't refuse any more. I rejoined JADTech as CTO. Frankly, I went for the "bucks". But before you think I completely "sold out"… this was really a racing decision. Faced with the 2004-racing season on a very limited budget, going back to JADTech meant that I could afford to seriously compete for a National Championship in GT4… an Opel of course. New tires every race (about $800/set)... a new 5-speed sequential gearbox…and everything else it takes to do it "right". That's what it takes to win. And going back to JADTech I could afford a serious effort to win the "Runoffs".