Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
96 Posts
I need to re-thread one of the water pump bolt holes in the block of my 1.9 and I would like to know a few things first, since I've never worked on an OHC engine before. Does the head have to come off to take the timing cover off or is there another way? Are there any tricks I should know, pitfalls to watch out for, bolts that should be replaced(12 pt. to allen maybe)? TIA

Thanks for any help/ideas,
Webster:)

·
Super Moderator
9,768 Posts
Webster;
If you have to know, yes, the head has to come off, there are 10 star bolts that hold the head on. which bolt hole do you have to re-thread? It might just be easier to pull the radiator out and pull the front crank pulley off, this will gain you access to just about all the bolt holes on the pump. I have an idea, that might save a bit of trouble, get a "thread cutting screw" slightly larger than the bolt hole and go that route, you'll have to drill out that hole in the water pump every time you replace a pump, but, it will make the job less painful. I did that on a Sportwagon of my Dad's, worked for years.
Gene

·
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The bolt is the bottom long one (facing motor) on left goes into the block. I looked for a longer bolt -no one makes it,not even the original size and length.It's M7x1.00 X70mm, longest I found was 55mm. looked for stud to replace and again no one makes them in that pitch(1.00). Thought I would do it the right way so I'm not branded the PO someday. This SUCKS :mad: .It's a new rebuilt spent BIG $$ on it. So is there anything I should look out for in the processe.

Thanks
Webster

·
Super Moderator
14,062 Posts