Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in the 70s' when I graduated from high school Corvettes, Firebirds, Camaros, and Mustang cobras were the hot expensive cars that affluent families bought their kids or young adults going off to colledge to cellebrate their freedom.

The resourceful but broke :mad: had to settle for something less.

Now my family wasn't exactly broke, in fact my father was a certifiable car nut. He was a metal smith by trade but didn't work in the auto industry. He was into structural parts pieces for big construction projects like water towers or huge machines that had custom fabed components or things like huge stainless steel vessels for breweries.

Well you know the old saying everybody has to have a hobby. Dad liked owning, fixing, and driving cars. Unfortunately very few seemed cool to me. I had an older brother. He got the Vette, the GTO, the cool stuff and promptly wrecked it all. So I couldn't have any of this stuff.

Like I said the 70s was my era and the first car I had was a 59 Oldsmobile. It was a tank that sometimes didn't run but it was mine and sometimes I could get it to do cool stuff, like take curves faster than the road signs were posted for. In fact I got so good at this that a couple of motorcyclists, who were tailgating me once, got a big suprise when we hit a curve at the crest of hill that I had perfected a brake and punch out of way in excess of recommended speed... They tried to follow me and hit the ditch!! :D