Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A fellow racer was laughingly admiring the (admittably hilarious)
size and bulk of Speedway GT's four speed (stock, of course) transmission. The question was asked, is this gonna be tough enough?
My answer was "we'll see..."
Anybody out there have any speculation on whether or not a stock four speed will survive ten minutes of 8000 rpm in second gear?
What about ten minutes full throttle in third?
Please advise, but don't mention any slick gear oils...that's illegal here because when it blows all over the track it's too hard to remove!
Would the five speed be any better, maybe, and does anyone want to donate one to, say, field test?
What I'm studying lately is all the stock 4 and 5 speed gear ratios,provided by Dennis at Opels Unlimited, mathematically pondering the wild rear gear ratios offered by Risse Motorsports.
All this just to go 60 miles per hour...
Thanks, and keep the pointy end forward.
Jeff

·
Banned
3,842 Posts
My opinion of the 4 speed is that with new bearings throughout it will survive the sustained 2nd and third runs. If you shift between the two and aren't extremely careful with it. You will coast to a stop and get to pick asphalt out of the counter shaft. Not quite as high of RPM with a stock motor and I did exactly what I have mentioned. The load when you shift at high Rs tends to stress and distort the 1/2 inch or so shaft the counter is riding on and it all lets go. Then again you could get lucky and just grenade the clutch. My advise is try to corner the market on 4 speeds at 50 or so apiece, you can do 10 for the same price of a 5 speed. Then again there was some talk of a 3 speed manual for an opel that may survive better. The 3 speed was on German ebay and if I remember correctly they were pretty fond of it. I'm almost afraid to ask but how many horses are you trying to push through it?

·
Super Moderator
13,812 Posts
jeff denton said: