Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Opeler
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. Bear with me - I'm new to all this. On my '71 GT, last weekend I changed the points, condensor, cap, rotor, and spark plug wires. Took short drive, before I set the point dwell angle or set the timing. I made a little adjustment to the carb (weber) by raising the idle slightly. It rode rough, sluggish and sputtered a bit when I shut it off, which I figured was because I had not made any timing or dwell angle adjustments yet. Yesterday, I bought my dwell meter and timing light to tune it up, but it wouldn’t start. Its turning over, but the engine won’t start. It did start once or twice for a couple seconds barely, sounded real rough and then shut off. I replaced the ignition coil. I still get the same thing. The one thing I notice is the electric fuel pump is not clicking away as I usually hear it, sending fuel. It usually clicks repeatedly, but now I just hear a couple clicks. Any advice on what I should test first? Could the point dwell angle be so off that the car can’t start? Could this be the ignition switch or solenoid that gives everybody trouble eventually? By the way - sorry for those crappy looking pics I posted the other day. The red '69 has some great mods which I'm sure some people would like to see. I have a much better view of it. If anyone is interested, send me a mssg and I'll email the pic to you.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Kajun GT

·
Super Moderator
9,765 Posts
I'd check the pump first, unhook it from the carb and stick the open end in a large bottle or container, then turn on the key, if it's working properly, it'll pump fuel into the container, if not, you're not getting gas. That being the case, you need to correct that first.

·
Registered
6,344 Posts