Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Opel Junkie
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yes, it's me, with yet another headlight inquiry (i swear i will make these things work if it kills me!!)

i got the left light to roll over and latch both open and closed. upon installing the right bucket, i found that 2 of the 3 8mm head bolts are broken off in the holes. i need to know what size the bolts are so that i can tap them out, and what size drill bit to use. if it were standard (american or SAE) i could tell you just about every combination, but i am relatively new to the metric scene, and need some help.

again, i appreciate any help given.

mike

·
Banned
3,842 Posts
Those have to be 5 mm. That would be 5 x .8. Your minor diameter is 4.2 mm and so is your drill size or .156 inch. Drilling very carefully on center of the broken bolt will take out everything but the threads. Leaving you to run a tap to clean out what is left in the threads. Just be careful about breaking a tap.

Minor is the diameter between threads, size - pitch = drill size. Pitches are equal in distance and depth of thread.

I live in a metric world

·
Super Moderator
5,947 Posts
Good advice by nobody (that sounds kinda' weird!). Once those bolts are broken off, it is a major PITA to fix a headlight mechanism. But I just had to figure a way to do it, and after some (many) failures, here's the best way I can suggest.

First, here's a photo of the front of the mechanism, with the small bolts shown. What makes it hard to fix is that they are not only an odd size (M5 x 0.8 with an 8 mm head versus the standard 9 mm head), they are also metric grade 10.9. Which is equivalent to an SAE Grade 8 bolt, so they are HARD. And damn difficult to drill out. What I learned was you can't drill them out from the front, as the remainder of the bolt will be pushed out the bottom of the hole and jam in the mechanism.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
5,947 Posts