Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the GT, But I have always wanted one...I'm starting to look around here (Las Vegas) and I would like to know what things I should look out for when examining a GT???
I'm not looking for a concours car but would like to build a street "hot rod"...The posts I've seen here have encouraged me to pursue a GT instead of a more "mainstream" car...

·
Code Goober
243 Posts
Notes from an amatuer

Rust bad, you don't want it (being in LV, this might not be a problem). Just about anything that you find broken can be fixed, but with rust you reach a point of diminishing returns pretty quickly.
Compression in the cylinders shouldn't vary by more then about 15% (more would indicate it is due for rings). Wiring, I've had a couple of experiances with wiring that was just disintigrating, causes all kinds of headaches (not to mention fire hazards if you happen to have any kind of fuel problems). Crap in the fuel tank. Brake rotors, drums, booster, and lines (30 year old car remember). Wheel studs (had a wheel part company from car at 15 mph, not fun). Glass (no brainer). Exhaust manifold, having six working holes for the head-pipe is nice (most have broken bolts in them).

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the input...I'll keep those things in mind...With the way people move in and out of Vegas, you can never be sure where a car came from...

·
Registered
26 Posts
I agree, rust is BAD