Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hi, Im pretty new at this, i hope I have this in the right place. I just purchased 71*15inch ET or offset "25" BBS rims. I was told that the right size for these rims are low profile tires that ar 205/50 or 55/ R15. Im not really sure what to do, has some :cool: body have this type of rim. Also I need spacers for these. Can somebody help me with this information, I would really appreciate it. Robert, 1971 2.4 Opel GT P.S I have the 2"inch sport lowering spring in the front suspension. Thank you

·
Life Long Opeler
692 Posts
Oh boy.... This is a topic that has been beaten to death in here. If you do a search on wheels, I m sure you will find a ton if information. However, just to get you going in the right direction..

A) I am sure you meant 25mm and not 25" offset.

B) Are these wheels for a front wheel drive or a rear wheel drive car? If they are for front wheel drive, they wont work.

C) The off-set is how far OUT the center of the wheel sits toward the outside of the wheel well. For example, if you want a wheel to have a nice deep dish, you might want something like a -11 offset where the center of the wheel is more inside of the wheel well. I am having custom wheels made with a +12mm for the front and a + 3mm for the rear. But they are 8 and 9.5 inch wheels respecetively.

To be honest, with all the research Ive been doing on custom wheels, I have no idea what the stock "offset" is.

I too am lowering the car with the sport spring. I am getting 16" wheels and the tire size I am getting is Front 205/45/16 Rear 225/45/16, so you should be fine with the 50 series on the 15" wheel.

HTH

·
Banned
3,842 Posts
Sorry Thom, I have the gold BBSs on mine meant for a front wheel drive Honda. 1/4 inch spacer in front and variation on the rear discs in the rear. It's lowered two inches and it's fine.

·
137 Posts