Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Senior Contributor
499 Posts
Wilwood brake set up

While my booster is not leaking my brakes don’t seem very powerful. I guess it is the dual carbs and only one vacuum line

Currently I have a stock master cylinder and brake booster.
I have vented 75 brakes in front w/green pads and stock brakes in the rear.

I read in this thread http://www.opelgt.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4505 bob’s said

“I said 'screw it' and built a custom adjustable brake pedal assembly for his car, eliminating the brake booster altogether. The trick was to make a custom pedal assembly but retain the stock clutch pedal arm.... But there's not a whole lot of room under there to do this. So I just modified a stock Opel Manta/Ascona pedal cluster, retaining the stock clutch arm location and adding the adjustable balance bar pedal assembly and twin racing master cylinders. Total cost was just over $200 for the twin master cylinders (7/8" front and 3/4" rear), and the pedal assembly from Wilwood. I went with the 12" pedal length to increase the leverage ratio so the pedal effort wouldn't be too difficult.

What is a “adjustable balance bar pedal assembly” Which twin racing master cylinders? Where can I buy them or does anyone have an extra set for sale? What should I look for ask for exactly. Is there a special size for the Manta?

I have an extra Manta pedal cluster that does not look stock that I took out of my car when I got it. (The car came off the track) The brake pedal is longer, sticks out more and the clutch pedal pad itself is not centered but moved over to the left and centered not in the middle but the extreme left of the actual pedal part your shoe touches. Not understanding it at the time I pulled it out and replaced it with stock pedal and brake parts. (My car did not come with a master cylinder or brake booster).