Opel GT Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
In the late 70's My Dad got all into Opels.
I don't even remember how many Manta's and wagons he had.
We were the only ones around here actually rebuilding the engines and transmissions for them back then.
I had one of the Manta's but wrecked it one bad winter night.
Before that I had a couple of the wagons. And a 71 GT.
I recall the Blue Wagon and the blizzard in Ohio in 1977. Probably my best story!

I graduated in 1976. I'd sold my 1965 Mustang with a 302 as I was about to get married and had my Son in the oven.
So I bought the Blue from my Dad. I did what any self respecting young Guy would do! I put a White Ape Hair liner in it.
Because the winters can be cold here in Ohio? I made a divider to block off the back (Kept the heat up front) but it had a window so the rear view mirror was still good to see out the back.

Now the blizzard hit us and after days locked down? I got my best friend and we decided to go look at things.
We loaded up in Blue with several cases of refreshments. (I didn't SAY we were smart back then)
And We took a ride around Northern Ohio.

Now my Buddy had never been in Blue but liked it. I asked him if he'd seen the back with the Ape Hair.
That is where things went comically wrong! (All good stories need the comically wrong point)

As We had been driving around for hours, testing the refreshments, just having a good time, and wondering at the 10 foot tall snow banks? We were a slight bit distracted.

I asked if he'd seen the back at which point he said no. So I told him to turn on the side light above the right rear door.
Now here's where a TRUE movie moment comes in!!

He couldn't find it all bent over the passenger seat, Us going down a snowy road at about 45 MPH, and me all helpful?
"Here! I'll show you!"
At which point I turned around to reach over and turn the light on.