Opel GT Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

So the engine (CIH 1.6N) on my ascona B decided to quit on me about a year ago. Since I knew "nothing" about mechanics I decided to seek for professional help. They said it was the head-gasket and that it would cost me north of 650€ to replace it. Being a college student, i'm basically broke. So I decided to take matter into my own hands and do the job myself.

Fast-forward a year and some much needed e-learning, I pulled the head out of my engine and just started to dismantle it. (waiting on a valve spring compressor to remove the valves and springs)

Throughout the whole process I took some pictures and I will be posting them as I ATTEMPT to fix my engine.

To recap, when I bought the car like 3 years ago, I did some basic maintenance and notices that it run a bit rough. I also notices a brown paste in the oil filler cap (which later found out it was a mixture of oil in the water). Got the car running a bit better without major intervention but, unfortunately, last year, and after many kms lost all power (all of the sudden). I creeped ir home and when I tried to start it again the following day it remained hurt. Had a v8ish rumble and a powerful scent of gas out of the exhaust pipe. It also shook a lot...like physically speaking. I assumed it was running on 3 cylinders so I left it be.

Since I already suspected that the Hgasket was about to let me down, I assumed it was it's death and channeled all my anger and disappointment to said gasket.

That's when I decided to learn something about mechanics (after those rather scary budget/quotes I got from professional mechanics).

Back to the present day

As I said, i managed to, somehow, pull the head without any complication ("proper preparation prevents poor performance", as they say) and how now like to show you some pictures of the block and head's surface as to get your feedback on how bad it is.